“Beautiful muffin for a beautiful lady…”

I think this looks like the best muffin in the world. My mother thinks it would look better with a troll sitting atop it.

Ian-in-Japan told me to eat a muffin, so I did. It is very easy to convince me to go eat a muffin.

I ate this particular muffin yesterday, after a dental appointment in which my dentist was not Steve Martin.

But: is a Cheesecake Factory Pumpkin Spice Muffin sold at a Starbuck’s inside a Barnes and Noble really the best muffin in the world? No.  The best muffin in the world would be one of the following:

  1. Truly the Best Blueberry Muffins Ever
  2. Fat-Free Pumpkin Bran Muffins
  3. Nutella-filled Banana Muffins
  4. Best Blueberry Muffin in the World!!
  5. The Best Corn Muffin in the World
  6. The Best Rasberry Yogurt Muffins in the World
  7. World’s Best Blueberry Muffin

Look’s like blueberry’s the winner. Must be the alliteration.

AIMEE, in an article titled “How to Make the Best Muffins Ever” says “the true sign of a good muffin is that it elicits a reaction.” I reacted by pulling out my camera and quickly-and-discretely snapping a picture. AIMEE’s suggested reactions are “a sigh, a pause, or maybe closer inspection followed by a question or comment–usually made with a full mouth.” The closest people to me were a young lady with a pierced eyebrow typing on a laptop and a middle-aged lady intently holding the hands of a man in a red-and-black striped polo shirt. I am trying to imagine their reactions had I turned to face them and, with a mouth spraying muffin crumbs and pumpkin seeds, announced, “This muffin is truly superb!”

Curious, I also investigated the worst muffins in the world.

  1. Worst: Blueberry Muffin (390 calories, 9 g saturated fat, 5 g protein, 57 g…)
  2. World’s Worst Apple Muffin and Squirrel
  3. As well as three quotes from Love, Actually that somehow managed to contain all my search terms ( Prime Minister: Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I
    think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. …. Daniel: Well, because I
    thought it would be something worse….. Colin: Beautiful muffin for a beautiful
    lady…)

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.